GMWA Halal Foodguide
Home Contact Us

Kosher Gelatine

Views: 4164428 Last Updated: 26/05/2005
Question

 

Salam Alikum,
 
I am wondering if kosher gelatin is halal?
 
Thank you
 


Answer

 
Last Updated: 26/05/2005

Kosher gelatine is not necessarily Halaal.  If the kosher gelatine is from kosher fish then this would be permissible.   Jewish Rabbis issue conflicting verdicts on kosher status of gelatine however.  Some Liberal orthodox Rabbis consider pork gelatine as kosher - a ruling certainly problematic and astonishing for Muslims. 
 
One must find out the source of the gelatine before one can consume.  As a rule of thumb, consider gelatine (kosher or otherwise) as Haraam unless proved otherwise.
 
More about Kosher
 
Please do tell your friends and Ulama about this site.
Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service.  Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.
 
Jazaakumullah and request for Du'aas
and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best
 
To subscribe to Foodguide updates send a blank email to: foodguide-subscribe@yahoogroups.co.uk
 
FoodGuide Services Staff
Almighty Allah (SWT) says, "O people of Imaan! Eat of the pure things (Halaal) that We have provided for you, and be grateful to Allah" (Surah Baqarah 2:172)
 The Holy Qur'aan

 

Contribute

Please Donate to help keep this site running. Click here


Al-Ashraf Secondary School for Girls Window appeal

 

List by Category
 

List by Company
 

Subscribe to Foodguide
foodguide-subscribe@yahoogroups.co.uk
 

Search
 

Features
View this site on a mobile device Click Here

QR Code generator

 

Affiliates
Masjid-E-Noor

Aakhirah image

MuftiSays - Fiqh Q&A's

Click here to visit Al-Ashraf Primary School Website

Click here to visit the Masjid-E-Noor Website

Click here to visit Al-Ashraf Secondary School for Girls Website

Click here to visit the Ummah Welfare Trust Website