GMWA Halal Foodguide
Home Contact Us

Red wine vinegar

Views: 4165291 Last Updated: 10/02/2010
Question

 

Are products with ingredients such as white wine vinegar and cider vineger permissible?

Also are synthetic vanilla flavours such vallinin (eg in the chocolate Toblerone by Kraft foods) permissible?

I live in th UK if you need to now.

May Allah maintain and guide your service. Wassalam


Answer

 
Last Updated: 10/02/2010

Ingredients such as white wine vinegar and cider vinegar are permissible.

Vinegar is produced by two successive microbial processes. The first being an alcoholic fermentation (which is Haraam) and the second an oxidation of alcohol by aceto bacter, when it's molecular structure is changed and it ceases to be an intoxicant. Other varieties of vinegar are produced from beetroot, tarragon and alcoholic spirits. In vinegar the intoxicating factor is destroyed by the microbial process of oxidation hence it becomes permissible. Islam permits any variety of vinegar to be used as a condiment or preservative. (Muslim Food Guide - Page A26/27)

Allah reward you for using the Foodguide Service.  Allah give us tawfique to eat Halaal all the time. Please tell your friends and please pray for us too.
 
... and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Was-Salaamualaikum

 

Contribute

Please Donate to help keep this site running. Click here


Al-Ashraf Secondary School for Girls Window appeal

 

List by Category
 

List by Company
 

Subscribe to Foodguide
foodguide-subscribe@yahoogroups.co.uk
 

Search
 

Features
View this site on a mobile device Click Here

QR Code generator

 

Affiliates
MuftiSays.com - More than just questions being answered.

Aakhirah image

MuftiSays - Fiqh Q&A's

Click here to visit Al-Ashraf Primary School Website

Click here to visit the Masjid-E-Noor Website

Click here to visit Al-Ashraf Secondary School for Girls Website

Click here to visit the Ummah Welfare Trust Website